Manchester, UK... A heavy hip hop beat is laid down... Rhythm and sound, past and present...

Playlist 12/04/07

1. The Voices Of East Harlem - Right On Be Free [ Elektra]
2. Odyssey - Our lives are shaped by what we love [ MoWest]
3. Roy Ayers - We Live in Brooklyn Baby (Sasso edit) [ KAT002]
4. The Loosen Ups ft. Miss Ray T - Pay to move on [ Noise Revolution]
5. Open Souls, The Tornadoes & Tyra Hammond - What do you do? [ Mukatsuku]
6. Orchesre Du Bawobab - Kelen ati len [ Soundway]
7. The Loosen ups - You got me cramp’d up [ Noise Revolution]
8. Lack Of Afro - Rodrigo [ Freestyle]
9. Wganda Kenya - Tifit Hayed [ Soundway]
10. Phirpo Y Sus Caribes - Comencemos [ Soundway]
11. Broki Y Hector Calderos - Comparsa (Nauts rub) [ Bittasweet]
12. Orquesta Nunez - La Samaria [ Soundway]
13. Lito Barrientos Y Su Orquesta - Cumbia En Do Menor [ Soundway]
14. The Jacksons - Heartbreak Hotel (Sasso edit) [ KAT002]
15. Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - You can’t go (Edit De Prince Language) [ Editions Disco]
16. Masterbuilders - New York, New York [ Complete Music]

And normal service is resumed. Kicking things off into fine effect this week with a healthy selection of funk, some new, some old and some re edited. Check out the two tracks by the Loosen Ups. Tyra Hammond from The Open Souls vs. James Brown & All The People. Mayhem written all over it.

The next section is all about fine South American sounds. Much respect to the good people at Soundway Records for their fantastic work into putting out the new Columbia! album, trust me, you’ll be wanting a copy of this after hearing what it has to offer. Also in this section is another replay for Afronauts rerub of Hector Calderos, so good I cannot stop playing it. Getting great reactions everywhere too!

Finally it all goes a bit up tempo at the end so hold onto your seats. The new Editions Disco 12” offering an amazing edit of Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Don’t leave me this way. Heavy heavy stuff. Till next time, enjoy the music…


As far as I know, I am not a robot.