Where elements of classic jazz, funk, soul, hiphop, dub, rock steady rhythms, latin, afro-beat and brazilian grooves connect with tomorrows sound.

Playlist 18/10/06

1. The Young Disciples All I Have In Me [Talkin’ Loud.]
2. NuYorican Soul I Am Black Gold Of The Sun [Talkin’ Loud.]
3. Good People Do Right [Jakata.]
4. Lee McDonald We’ve Only Just Begun [Favorite.]
5. Wailing Souls See Baba Joe [Greensleeves.]
6. Lady Saw Nah Mix Nah Mingle [Soul Jazz.]
7. Dillinger Dub Plate Pirate [Soul Jazz.]
8. OK-MA Switch [Sick Trumpet.]
9. Massak B.L.A Extended [Favorite.]
10. Sygaire Deux Mille Deux [Sonar Kollektiv.]
11. Ibumba All Stars Ibumba Unity [Jakata.]

Hi and welcome to Heavy Mannas. Straight in this week with two drops from one of the 90s defining labels, Talkin’ Loud.

Bit of mish mash, bit of dancehall vibes with a remix from Grant Phabao of the Lee McDonald tune “We’ve Only Just Begun” – wicked. Classic Greensleeves and Soul Jazz (who have a brand new comp out btw, simply called “Dancehall”).

Moving on to South London Don’s of the basslines, OK-MA, Afro Beat from Franck Biyong’s Massak outfit and ending on Sygaire and the Ibumba All Stars (this crew are found on the album “Unity!”).

Now then, listen up…. 100% of the profits from the album “Unity!” will be donated to the construction of an aids orphanage in South Africa. It’s a great album, full of very cool and very wicked hip hop stylin’s and great grooves. All the artists involved donated their tracks for free, as did the label in donating their time in putting the project together. They deserve a mighty big pat on the back like. Please show some support and buy the album when you see it. PEACE.

Paul Gamblin (aka Heavy Mannas)




As far as I know, I am not a robot.