Lanu drops a freestyle selection blurring boundaries between Jazz, Hip hop, Latin, Drum & Bass, Afro-Beat, Soul, House, Funk, Broken Beat and Boogie.

Playlist 17/10/06

1. Jay-Z Show Me What You Got [Rocafella]
2. The Broken Keys The Witch (The Bamboos Version) [Tru Thoughts*]
3. The Tornadoes & Tyra Hammond You Got Me Thinkin' [FTC*]
4. John Legend P.D.A (We Just Don't Care) [Sony]
5. Sygaire Deux Mille Deux [Sonar Kollektiv]
6. The Crusaders Sweet 'n' Sour (Simon Grey Remix) [cdr*]
7. Opolopo feat. Amalia All Systems Down [cdr]
8. Kenny Garrett Gwoka [Nonesuch]
9. Medasi We Are An African People [Rise]

* - Denotes Aust/NZ production

John Legends new album "Once Again" is out on Sony with production assistance from the likes of Kanye West, Raphael Saadiq and We hear "P.D.A (We Just Don't Care)" Jay-Z out of retirement and LP "Kingdom Come" drops November. "Show Me What You Got" features amazing production by Just Blaze (check the drums!) On the cdr front Ex-pat Simon Grey takes on The Crusaders for his latest remix (more release details as they come)"Opolopo teams up with Amalia one more time and the results are breathtaking (album sooncome??? Pleeeeeez!!!) Deep Funk bizness with the scorching Tyra Hammond serving up more soulful goodness with the FTC posse from NZ! while The Bamboos take The Broken Keys "The Witch" into even rawer territory. Deep, spiritual Jazz flavours from Kenny Garrett (New album "Beyond The Wall" features Pharoah Sanders, Bobby Hutcherson, Brian Blade, Mulgrew Miller, Robert Hurst and Ruggerio Boccato?HEAVY!!!!) Also the amazing "We Are An African People" from Medasi featuring a very young Geri Allen on piano duties. Keep your head to the sky!


As far as I know, I am not a robot.