Manchester, UK... A heavy hip hop beat is laid down... Rhythm and sound, past and present... We build on the funk & soul that surrounds us all.

Playlist 19/09/06

1. Susan Christie No one can hear you cry [ Finders Keepers]
2. Freddie Cruger ft Linn Pushing on [ Ubiquity]
3. DJ Mitsu the Beats Tokyo (Tokyo Black Star remix) [ Jazzy Sport]
4. DJ Monk One Cross Country [ White]
5. De La Soul ft Chaka Khan All Good [ Tommy Boy]
6. Coolys Hot Box Give me your money [ Purpose]
7. Beef Wellington All I need [ Fantabulous]
8. Ndambi Whats wrong with you [ Cheeky-I Productions]
9. Sergio Mendez For what its worth [ A & M]
10. Lewis Taylor Lovelite [ Sonorama Records]
11. Nino Moschella If you believe (Sa Ra re edit) [ Ubiquity]
12. Easy Star AllStars ft Toots Let Down [ Easy Star]
13. Vision and the Riddle NYSFC [ Post Records]
14. Red Astaire Rolling stone [ GAMM]
15. Freddie Cruger ft Linn Pretty little thing [ Ubiquity]
16. Beatconductor Hottest [ GAMM]

Kicking things off this time round with a track from Susan Christie, taken from her long lost LP, Paint a lady. I say long lost, but it was never released in the first place! Privately pressed vanity copies were manufactured in early 1970 one of which became the source material for the Finders Keepers label. Its an amazing album, Madlib does sixties folk soul anyone?

There are a couple of tracks from the new Freddie Cruger LP, fantastic collaberations hes done with the Swedish soulstress, Linn. If you heard the linn & freddie ep you know this will be more hiphopsoul excellence we have come to expect from these two.

Elsewhere in the show, Ive tucked away another Radiohead coverversion, this time taken from the Easy Star Allstars album with the mighty Toots Hibbert giving it some on the track, Let down. A quality little skit from Post Records with a track about NewYorkSuperfudgechunk. Some sweet soul courtesy of Beef Wellington and NDambi. Sa Ra doing strange satisfying things to Nino Moschellas music. The revolutions continue...


As far as I know, I am not a robot.