Rare grooves, hi-tech jazz and other-worldly fusions delivered fresh weekly. With Ennio Styles and friends.

Playlist 8/06/12 with Robert Glasper Experiment, jose James, Taylor McFerrin & Samuel Yirga

1. Robert Glasper Experiment feat Shafiq Husayn - Lift Off/Mic Check [Blue Note]
2. Robert Glasper Experiment - Oriental Folk Song (Me N U) [Blue Note Japan]
3. Robert Glasper Experiment feat Stokley - Why Do We Try [Blue Note]
4. Robert Glasper Experiment - A Love Supreme [Blue Note]
5. Heavy - Sam/Sam's Return [BBE]
6. Robert Glasper Experiment - For You [Blue Note]
7. Robert Glasper Trio feat Blilal - Maiden Voyage [Fresh Sound]
8. Robert Glasper Trio - Interlude [Fresh Sound]
9. Q-Tip - Official [Universal Motown]
10. Robert Glasper Experiment - Smells Like Teen Spirit [Blue Note]
11. Derrick Hodge feat Common - We Live Today [Blue Note]
12. Tiombe Lockhart - GP [Bling 47]
13. Jose James feat Jordana de Lovely - Love Conversation [Brownswood]
14. Taylor McFerrin - Georgia [Rude Movements]
15. Jose James - Central Park West [--]
16. Jose James feat Taylor McFerrin & Kris Bowers - Trouble (Live in Stylin') [--]
17. Taylor McFerrin - Done For [Brainfeeder]
18. Taylor McFerrin - Broken Vibes [Rude Movements]
19. Samuel Yirga - Tiwista (Tinish Mix) [Real World]
20. Samuel Yirga - ?? (Live in Stylin') [--]
21. Samuel Yirga - Ambassadel in Box Revisited (Live in Stylin') [--]
22. Samuel Yirga - Firma Ena Wereket [Real World]


Last Friday was pretty much a dream Stylin' for me. I had the full lineup of NYC's 'Future Now' in the studio being The Robert Glasper Experiment (ft. Casey Benjamin, Derrick Hodge and Mark Colenburg), Jose James and Taylor McFerrin. Jose performed one of his new songs accompanied by Kris Bowers on piano, then Taylor came in and beatbox-remixed it live. If that wasn't enough, Ethiopian pianist Samuel Yirga also dropped in and played live. We even had a rare appearance from Robert's MC alter-ego Aladdius Young!

Some of the good news: Casey is working on a new album with Heavy and a solo album as Stutz McGee, Jose and Derrick both have new albums coming out on Blue Note and Taylor is also working on a debut album, probably for Brainfeeder.

Derrick Hodge's 'Live Today' album will feature the likes of Robert Glasper, Common and Chris Dave. Jose James' will feature Pino Palladino, Brian Bender, Fink, Emily King, Robert Glasper, Hindi Zahra, Chris Dave and Richard Spaven.

Stylin' broadcasts live each Friday on Australia's best known community station, 3RRR-FM Melbourne.

Ennio Styles


As far as I know, I am not a robot.